A Voice of Reason: Sane Views for a Crazy World

April 5, 2007

Cultaral War Against Easter: Part IV – The Angry Atheist

First a short disclaimer, I don’t see atheists as my personal enemies, I see them as the loyal opposition. Sadly, many of the aforementioned see me, and those who follow religious principals as the enemy. How unfortunate. Before those of you who may be atheistic and wandered into this valley of pernicious Christian dogma – though some of the more zealous in their faith call this a den of relativism, which makes me hopeful that I’ve offended both extremes, consider this wonderful image which is so typical of the angry atheism I see about:

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Now, I don’t mind a joke at all, and I also don’t mind poking fun at religion. However, this one goes a bit far, and this is among the more milder forms of hatred towards the concept of religious identity that is so often portrayed by the “Angry Atheists”. Now, many would say this is the “liberal left”, trying to destroy the Christian culture of the US. Christian culture, I’m not so sure about that. Look at the news, and the types of attitudes that run about the US, and let’s be careful before we start comparing America to some sort of Christian panacea. I also know that many atheists have a sense of decency, and are in fact like the vast majority of other people, other than that God thing, heck many of them are libertarian, and I’m not going to try and prove my basis of faith to you. Remember, I don’t hate you, you’re just the loyal opposition. However, I do suspect that many who would wear this type of stuff, actually have a mind frame that is probably way left of center, and by the way can you who are slightly to the right of center leave us centrists and sometimes liberals who really share 90% to 99% of the values you share alone, and stop blaming “Liberalism” which has become a dirty word with cultural hatred. You see the angry athesists are just as hateful as those who do acts of violence on the behalf of God, and the number of Christians who do these acts is VASTLY overstated.

Now, just to show that I don’t mind satire being used with regards to my own faith, here’s an icon a rather like, even though it is surely likely to offend some. I present to those of you previously unenlightened with “The Buddy Jesus”

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I don’t have one of these in my car, but I’ve thought about it.  And, honestly, while I don’t ever mean to demean my belief in the divinity of Christ, I am constantly more amazed and connect to the concept that Jesus really was one of us, and therefore he gets it.  I would tease those who I love, and confess, I have a deep abiding love for Jesus, my Lord, my saviour, my best friend, and my brother.  He gets my teasing, and somehow I have a feeling he’ll one day get a good amount of getting even in eternity, and I have no doubt that he’s better at pulling pranks than I am.  He has more clout!

However, this movement is forged by out and out angry atheists, who certainly have a right to not believe, but stop being killjoys goes a little bit beyond the often needed satire.  It’s good to see and maybe make fun of the specks or beams in your own eyes after all.  Here’s a memo to you atheists out there, No one is lining up to “make you convert”. At least I hope so.  Candidly you have have your own mind and a free will, and on behalf of Christians who may have offended you by actling like A**holes, I apologize, but they really aren’t the majority of us, even us Evangelicals. However, you have to understand that you are culturually in the minority, and just deal with it.  That’s they way life goes, and cultural minorities have the dominant culture sometimes cramp their style.  

For those angriest of the atheists, for people who don’t believe in God, you certainly seem to hate him enough.  Be more apathetic about the whole concept and that may set a better example of your enlightenment. We promise we won’t make you bow and kneel and have Christ enter your life, and I think that the vast majority of people of faith will treat you civilly and respectfully.  Please, do not use that line, “It’s hard to believe people who think you’re going to hell, really respect you”.  Remember, You Don’t Believe In It.  At least – and since you are sooooo intelligent this shouldn’t be a problem – be consistent, and then work on being civil.

4 Comments »

  1. One of the best things I can ever remember seeing was being in the drive-through of a McDonalds on the highway. In the car behind me were two nuns, I’d say somewhere in their 50’s, with a Buddy Jesus on the dashboard.

    I remember hoping that they were parochial school teachers, because any kids in a class with nuns like that would be very lucky🙂

    Signed,
    someone who went to parochial school with nuns NOT like that.

    Comment by Just Passing By — April 5, 2007 @ 6:00 pm | Reply

  2. I doubt you will be getting any Easter greetings cards from Richard Dawkins…lol.

    Comment by totaltransformation — April 6, 2007 @ 2:48 am | Reply

  3. So, I’m not sure if you like the t-shirt label or dislike it. (Sorry, my misunderstanding. Again.)

    Personally, I like it except the one word. I don’t think Jesus would say it, at least not in that frame of reference.

    I think sometimes, that’s the way he feels. Look what he did and look how we repay him. Even those of us who count him as our friend, our savior, our confidant and yes, even our buddy. And what does he get for it in return? A picture on a lousy t-shirt.

    P.S. In case you’re wondering I intentionally didn’t capitalize “he”. Didn’t want to offend my unbelieveing friends.

    P.P.S. I choose the word unbelieving because I think it fits a broader spectrum. You have the aethesists, who truly believe there is no go. The agnostics who aren’t sure, but figure it doesn’t matter (like the song said, “I swear there ain’t no heaven, but I pray there ain’t no hell) and then you have the Baptists who pretend to be one thing on Sundays and something else the rest of the week.

    While some may think that the last is a swipe, please take this with a grain of salt. I’m a Baptist and have been one for 48 years. Today, I’m really confused, it’s Good Friday, and, like a good Baptist, I’m not sure if I’m supposed to be happy or sad.

    Comment by Randy — April 6, 2007 @ 10:46 am | Reply

  4. I picked the t shirt because it was the “least” offensive of the many items which were avaialable from this online store.

    I don’t mind the capitalization. I always do when referring to The Almighty. Always watch the P’s and Q’s, you never know, the idea of Zeus and the thunderbolts comes to mind!

    To me, it was just another day, this past Friday. I did try to reflect a bit more on what happened there, but I’m not a big person on pretensions. I try to be aware of what happened on that day on all days. Somedays more effectively than others.

    Comment by avoiceofreason — April 8, 2007 @ 4:15 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

