A Voice of Reason: Sane Views for a Crazy World

April 14, 2007

Thinking Blogger Award

Filed under: blogging — avoiceofreason @ 4:21 pm

ThinkingBlogger

Well, I’ve been awarded a Thinking Blogger Award. I was nominated for this award by Maggie’s Notebook, and I wanted to thank her for putting this blog forward for such an award. Praise from one’s peers is always welcome, and I am happy that some of my ideas and commentaries are thought of so highly.

This task is not going to be easy, as now I have the chance to piss a lot of people off, but I will try to pick five of the many that make me think. Now, it is my turn to give such notice to blogs that make me think and ponder. So, without further ado here they are:

1. Woman Honor Thyself – This blog deals mostly with issues concerning Israel. At first I thought it was a woman’s issues blog, but found it to be more focussed towards the concerns of the War on Terror and the State of Israel. No punches are pulled on this site, and it often offers commentary, analysis and sometimes well deserved sarcasm towards people in the news. Congratulations.

2. Dr. Roger Passman – This is a blog which features educational issues such as the increasing role of mandatory testing and its impact upon student learning. Dr. Passman and myself have had a few interesting exchanges, and we actually view this issue across a philosophical gap. However, I have found his posts to be genunine, well thought out, and worth reading. Dr. Passman is also a frequent contributor to this blog in comments, and I’ve always found his comments having the same quality. I have enjoyed my short association with Dr. Passman, and although we disagree on substance, we both have welcomed the friendly atmosphere where we can disagree and remain most agreeable. This doesn’t mean I “always” disagree with Dr. Passman’s views. I think we probably have very similar goals with education, but think of different paths to acheive them.

3. Wake Up America – This is a blog written by a a middle aged guy like me, and like many others, the events of 9/11 changed his view of the world. I liken the author of this blog as the town watchman standing over the gates of the city and warning any who will read of the dangers that are about us. Not only are his posts informative, he manages to find a theme among the many topics that he writes about. His commentary is typically is on point and it also seems his idea is to let the news speak for itself. I find his posts challenging, and am glad that we have found each other in this nether world of the blogosphere. A life long Democrat, the author shows the most endangered of species, Progressive who understand that being a HAWK is important.

4. Little Miss Chatterbox – This is a blog I’ve started reading only recently, and what I like about this blog the most is the areas that I have in my own life which are similar and more importantly different than the authors. In her bio she states she has four children, I have five. She homeschools, and I teach in the public schools – which in many cases would be enough grist to see each other as mortal enemies – but I don’t see it that way at all. I know we are not eye to eye on so many things, but this is the case where the 10% that we are not in sync, make that 90% so much more interesting. She calls herself a cross between Ann Coulter, and you all know the “high” esteem I hold her in, and is probably the cause for the 10% of fun – and Peggy Noonan, whom I admire greatly, and is the reason for the 90% approval rating! I also feel this blog has attitude, and I like that.

Now for the last spot. I feel like the opposite of that guy in the movie, Billy Madison, I can’t believe I confessed to seeing that drivel, okay I had tween kids at the time, BLAME THEM, who crosses people off the list that he wants to kill, but am now about to add some.

5. 4 Simpsons – This is a blog that is primarily centered towards social and political events in an Evangelical or Conservative Christian vein. Neil often frames his blog around other non-political areas such as the concept of God, forgiveness and topics that many who read for purely “red meat” issues would never view, but people who wish to expand in other areas of their life might enjoy. Although I am an Evangelical Christian, I differ a bit from most Evangelical Christians views in many areas, but I am always happy to find a place where I can read a post, be made to think, and then agree wholly or in shades, and have a constructive dialogue that is pleasant and not demeaning. Neil’s blog is such a site.

So, there you are, my Five Thinking Bloggers Award

5 Comments »

  1. A thinker – now that’s something I don’t get called a lot! Thanks for the honor. And congrats on yours. I like sites like yours that aren’t all hyperbole and sound bites.

    Comment by Neil — April 14, 2007 @ 10:53 pm | Reply

  2. You are most welcome! I agree that I like sites where you can talk and have a dialogue.

    Comment by avoiceofreason — April 14, 2007 @ 11:14 pm | Reply

  3. LOL 🙂 Your assessment of me made me smile, especially the “attitude” part. The nice thing about the blog world is you meet people from all different walks of life and you find out you have things in common. I also appreciate your site and was happy to add you to the blogroll.

    Thanks for the nomination, you’re the 3rd person to tag me :):
    http://chatterboxchronicles.blogspot.com/2007/04/im-thinker.html.

    Comment by Little Miss Chatterbox — April 14, 2007 @ 11:21 pm | Reply

  4. Congrats on the award. Your blog is one that I try to read everyday, and do just about every day.
    And thank you for nominating my site, and for all the kind words you wrote in summing up my blog.

    Comment by mpinkeyes — April 15, 2007 @ 12:22 am | Reply

  5. Looks like a great group of favorites. I just found your trackback TODAY!! Don’t know what happened.

    Maggie
    Maggie’s Notebook

    Comment by Maggie M. Thornton — April 22, 2007 @ 2:50 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.